Fellowship for Photography

Habitat Photosphere Fellowship for Photography 2017

Habitat Photosphere is the first Indian photo-festival that brings together the spheres of photography and sustainability through a fellowship, mentorship, exhibitions, workshops, talks and more. As step one, we are calling for applications for Habitat Photosphere Fellowship for Photography 2017.

Submission deadline: 30th November 2017
Theme: Sustainable Development
4 award grants: Rs 2 lacs each
Jury and mentors: Parthiv Shah, Bandeep Singh, Prabir Purkayashta, Aditya Arya
Winners get exhibition space at India Habitat Centre, New Delhi.

Official website - www.HabitatPhotosphere.org
For updates follow - https://www.facebook.com/habitatphotosphere/

Eligibility and criteria:

  • Open to individual, emerging photographers who are Indian nationals or OCI
  • Applicants must be between 25-50 years of age
  • The submitted project should not be sent to any other fellowship/scholarship/ publication for consideration while it is in our review process

The Habitat Photoshphere Fellowship for Photography is a grant aimed at supporting emerging photographers already working on a project, on the subject of sustainability. It is not a portfolio competition.

The award will go to a photographer who demonstrates his/her ability to work on a long-term project by conceiving and writing a concise, focused and meaningful story proposal, with a time frame of approximately one year from start to finish. The accompanying images should justify the written proposal.

A four-member jury committee of experts in photography will select the winners of the Fellowship.

Application Requirements
There is no application fee for this fellowship. An application shall comprise of the following:

  1. Project Summary – It must clearly specify the intent of the project, the project title, relevant background information and expected course of the project. This summary will play a decisive role in the overall evaluation by the jury. It should be typed on an A4 sheet, and not exceed one page. Please note: The project should be focused on one subject only.
  2. Image submissions – 12 images should be enclosed with the application. Only color and B&W photographic prints are acceptable. The specification for the print size is 10 x 12 inches. Each print must have the name of the photographer and the project title on the reverse. Should the applicant be using transparency film, then digital prints of the same should be enclosed.
    Please note: Entries with less/more than the required 12 images will be eliminated. Entries on CDs or any other media will not be accepted.
  3. Caption and/ or Title List – Captions/ titles should be typed on a separate A4 sheet listing information for each image enclosed in the application.
  4. Resume/Curriculum Vitae –The CV should be typed on an A4 sheet and not exceed one page. It should include the applicant’s date of birth and contact details.

Submission of Proposal
Applications should be forwarded either by registered mail or courier. Please write ‘no commercial value’ on the package to avoid extra costs and delays.

Submissions will not be returned without a self-addressed and self stamped envelope. Applicants can also opt to collect their submissions from the Visual Arts Gallery, India Habitat Centre, Lodhi Road, New Delhi, India.

All submissions must be sent to:
Mr Saurabh Rai,
C/O Dr. Alka Pande,
Visual Arts Gallery,
India Habitat Centre,
Lodhi Road,
New Delhi – 110003.
+(91) 11-43662024 - 25

Declaration of winners
The winners will be declared in January 2018, and contacted directly by IHC. The winners will be required to complete their project and submit it to the Visual Arts Gallery of IHC latest by 15 December 2018.

The grant amount will be given to the fellowship winners in four installments over a period of one-year. Before each installment is given, the candidate will have to furnish a one-page progress report and 15 work prints indicating the direction of the project. She/he will be encouraged to meet with the jury members who will mentor her/him through the duration of the fellowship.

Waiver (for photo fellowship winners only)
Please note that the winning photo entries will be in possession of IHC and will not be returned to the winners. After the exhibition, IHC will keep 15-framed images from the final body of the project for its permanent collection.

IHC reserves the right to use the images for promotional and non-commercial purposes. The images can also be used in any IHC publication and as well as its website. However, should the images be reproduced in any medium other than this, the fellowship candidate will be reimbursed for the same.

Visual Arts Gallery and the Fellowship Hall of Fame
The Visual Arts Gallery has been a hub of uninterrupted art activity spanning different genres, and crossing many boundaries. From the visual art to seminars, and now traversing the path of the digital world, the Visual Arts Gallery has a finger on the pulse of contemporary art trends, leading to a sharing and union of energies and ideas. From showcasing two-dimensional works to three-dimensional works, we are trying to bring the best of art traditions both nationally and internationally. There is also an interface between what is termed 'high art' to popular art traditions.

In the last fourteen years, as perhaps the largest non-profit centre in the country, we have been supporting art, crafts, material culture, emerging talent, and also the medium of photography. The immediacy of the medium of photography forms an inherent trajectory of the visual arts. Photography is now a serious art practice and we have hosted works by some of the well-known photographers of the country, namely Amit Pasricha, Amit Mehra, Prabir Purkayastha, among others.
In an effort to promote photography as an art form, the Visual Arts Gallery of IHC instituted an award for photography in the year 2003. Winners till date -

2015 - Monica Tiwari, Shradhha Borawake, Harikrishna Katragadda, KR Sunil
2012 - Arkadripta Chakraborty
2010 - Co- winners Niranjan Ganpati Hosmane and Niha Masih
2010 - Chandan Gomes
2009 - Suruchi Dumpawar
2008 - Sameer Tawde
2007 - Zubin B. Pastakia, while Ashish Patil was recommended for a special showing at the Experimental Art Gallery.
2006 - Neeraj Mahajan
2005 - Sandeep Biswas. Veeresh S Babu received “Special Recommendation for Eye in Progress” to develop his body of works further.
2004 - Sumeet Inder Singh
2003 - Anay Mann